Skip to main content

Merge automation

You can configure automatic branch deletion to automatically delete the source branch after merging pull requests into the base branch in the selected repository. You can also configure automatic branch deletion with the Repository Settings API.

Enable automatic branch deletion​

By default, source branch deletion after merge is disabled. To enable automatic branch deletion:

  1. Select a star system.

  2. From Apps , select Repository Settings or select it from your pinned apps.

  3. Select the Merge automation tab.

  4. Select the repository for which you want to configure automatic source branch deletion.

  5. For Branch deletion after merging, select Enabled.

The Repository Settings app with automatic branch deletion enabled.

Disable automatic branch deletion​

To disable automatic branch deletion:

  1. Select a star system.

  2. From Apps , select Repository Settings or select it from your pinned apps.

  3. Select the Merge automation tab.

  4. Select the repository for which you want to disable automatic source branch deletion.

  5. For Branch deletion after merging, select Disabled.

On this page